5 Ways to Transform Your Small Backyard

Hi guys! I am so excited to finally post about our backyard! I seriously can’t believe the transformation. I look out there and can’t believe how it looks. It is everything I wanted! I’m here to give you some tips that can help you in remodeling your backyard, or just to get some inspiration.

1 . Ask yourself, “What do I want to do in my backyard?”

Do you want to relax with the hubby? Lounge with friends? Do you want to host dinner parties? Want to BBQ? Do you want a space for your kids to play? Do you want a fire pit? I wanted to be able to eat out there and also lounge afterwards. My space is small so I had to get creative in how to fit benches for relaxing and a table for dining. I decided that an L shape was the best way to fit 2 benches and also leave enough space for a dining set. Although our summers are hot, it does get much cooler in the fall. I saw a cute fire pit for $40 on black Friday and, luckily, it fit right into my plans.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2043.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2041.

2. Decide on a color scheme.

I decided that I wanted a place that felt open, fresh and natural. My house is styled in neutral earth tones. Hues of blue for the ocean and sky, along with greens for grass. I wanted it to be a smooth transition from the indoors to the outdoors, but I wanted my outdoor space to have a bit more fun and color. So I chose a black and white color scheme and added pops of yellow for the sun and allowed the greenery to add to the space. I also included purple flowers to add some color.

IMG_4387.JPG

My sister helped me make the yellow pillowcase. I am so proud of it!

IMG_4627

The little cactus is actually a salt shaker. I found it at the Goodwill for 50 cents!

IMG_4021

Alyssum

IMG_4056

Snapdragons

IMG_4624

3. Plant flowers and greenery.

There is nothing more beautiful about a backyard than the amazing colors nature has to offer. So use this place to plant your favorite flowers, or your most used herbs, or your favorite colors. We had 2 big trees that provided lots of shade, but grass was never able to grow because the sun never got to it and it was always messy because of all the leaves. So as much as I hated to do it, my husband and our neighbors finally convinced me to get rid of them. And now, I am actually happy about it because we were able to grow grass and it looks so luscious and pretty.

This is what it looked like before.

IMG_9292

And after.

IMG_9460

And then after we took the trees down. I planted a purple and yellow garden to go along with my color scheme.

 

 

IMG_4368.JPG

Blue eyed and purple daisies.

I picked flowers that attract butterflies and hummingbirds. It is so nice to sit outside with a glass of wine, telling my husband about my day, and observing nature.

3. Invest in fencing.

Figure out what kind of fence you would like. Wood? Bricks? Lattice? As you can see in the picture above, the problem we had with our fencing was that the back fence was new, and a reddish color. The side fencing was old and worn. It really bothered me that they were two different tones. New fencing on both sides was not in our budget. And even if it was, I wasn’t too crazy of the reddish color. So I decided a cheap, easy fix was to paint everything white. We rented a paint sprayer from Home Depot and bought 5 gallons of white exterior paint. It cost around $250 and made ALL the difference.

 

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2021.

I decided to add a lattice pattern with vines on the back fence as an interesting focal point. They’re still growing in, but you can get the idea in the picture below. I also added potato vines to grow on the pergola posts to add an al fresco feel.

IMG_4667

4. Decide on lighting.

There are so many options for lighting. I decided on sting bulb lights for a modern, warm and inviting feel. I decided on an X pattern for uniformity.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2038.DCIM100GOPROGOPR2051.

5. Have fun!

Now that your backyard is good to go, have fun and enjoy it! After all the time and work it took, my husband and I made an effort to go out there and enjoy it. Let me tell you, we found ourselves talking for hours, instead of watching TV. We hosted dinner for our friends, listening to music and watching it go from day to dusk. We hosted summer holidays such as Father’s Day. We made s’mores with our niece. Enjoying time with friends and family is what it’s all about.

Now I will share a few more before and after pictures. It was honestly a junk area before we got to working on it. This is why I can’t believe it sometimes, but I am so happy with the end result.

IMG_9286

I planted the alyssum and snapdragons along this fence.

IMG_9288

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2046.

IMG_9294

IMG_4631

Doesn’t the white paint make the biggest difference??

IMG_9296

 

IMG_4628

DCIM100GOPROGOPR2055.DCIM100GOPROGOPR2047.

So there it is! A backyard I can enjoy dinner in and lounge afterwards. What do you think??

Leave a Reply

