Cranberry Pecan Cookies

My mom loves pecans, and with Mother’s Day around the corner, I decided to make her some cranberry pecan cookies. The batch made plenty of cookies, so I had enough to give to my mother-in-law and sister-in-law as well. I quickly made some pretty tags and tied them with ribbon to the cookie bags. I’m so happy with how they turned out.

IMG_9198

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 16 tablespoons (2 sticks) cold unsalted butter
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup ice water
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries

This recipe is basically pie dough with the addition of pecans and cranberries. You can find the steps, with pictures, for the pie dough in my Lemon Meringue Pie post. Follow steps 1-4 and add the sugar, pecans and cranberries.

Roll out dough onto a lightly floured surface. I used these fun springtime cookie cutters from Williams Sonoma in which you can imprint a tulip, bumblebee, or butterfly. You couldn’t really see the impression because of the dough, but I still liked the shape. And I’ll have to try out the cookie cutters on plain sugar cookies. I bet they’ll turn out so pretty!

Bake in a 425 degree oven for 8 – 10 minutes.

IMG_9188

Serve them up with a cup of coffee, or wrap them up as gifts!

IMG_9189

Leave a Reply

