Mortadella & Provolone Italian Sub

My brother, David, hurt his foot on the treadmill. Which, to me, sounds like another reason not to go to the gym. Just kidding.. Kinda. Anyway, he came over and I was feeling a little lazy. So I decided to make us some easy peasy Italian subs for lunch.

It’s my go-to sandwich for picnics. It’s seriously so good! Since it is made with pork, it pairs well with both red and white wines. I can usually get 3-4 sandwiches out of one loaf, and it’s always very filling. I had made this sub for David before, and he texted me a few days later asking for the recipe, so I knew he would enjoy it.

This recipe calls for dried basil and fresh basil. I always buy the basil that comes in a little pot with dirt and re-grow it in these decorative pails I have. It makes my $3 go a long way! I have had the one I used for this sandwich for a month, and it’s the third time I get use out of it.

IMG_8445

And while it grows, how cute does it look on the kitchen windowsill?

IMG_8446

Ingredients:

  • Dried basil
  • Loaf of French bread
  • Mortadella ham, 3-4 slices per sub
  • Provolone cheese
  • Garlic bulb
  • 2 tbs butter
  • A handful of fresh basil
  • Tomato
  • 1/4 Onion
  • Olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Get a whole garlic bulb and cut off the top.

IMG_8440

Next, get a piece of foil big enough to cover the whole bulb. Place bulb on foil and drizzle a good amount of olive oil over it. I’d say about a tablespoon.

IMG_8441

Cover it with foil, and place in oven for about 40 – 45 minutes.

IMG_8442

While that’s cooking, you can get started on the tomato basil “salad.”

Thinly slice a small tomato.

IMG_8443

Thinly slice up a quarter of an onion.

IMG_8444

Grab a few leaves of basil. Stack them together and roll them up, then proceed to cut them up into little strips. The fancy term for this is chiffonade. My leaves were pretty small, making it hard to roll them up, so I just chopped away.

IMG_8453

Combine tomato, basil and onion in a bowl and drizzle olive oil over it. Add salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_8455

Cut loaf into pieces, and then cut each piece in half.

IMG_8457

IMG_8458

Melt 2 tbs of butter in microwave 10 seconds at a time. Spread melted butter over the bread.

IMG_8460

Sprinkle dried basil leaves over the bread.

IMG_8463

Add a few slices of provolone to the bottom pieces of bread. Set oven to broil and place bread inside.

IMG_8464

It toasts up pretty quick, so keep an eye on it. I left mine in for about 2 minutes. How good are these looking already?

IMG_8465

Carefully take the garlic out of the oven. The cloves should easily squeeze right out. If they don’t, put it back a few more minutes.

IMG_8528

Spread garlic on the top piece of bread. I like a lot!

IMG_8529

Add a few slices of mortadella.

IMG_8531

Top with the tomato basil salad.

IMG_8536

Enjoy!

IMG_8543

IMG_8544

Next time, try it with pesto sauce!

If you plan to take this sub on a picnic like we do, pack the tomato basil salad separately so as not to get the bread all soggy.

 

italiansubjpeg

Comment below and let me know what you think!

One thought on “Mortadella & Provolone Italian Sub

Leave a Reply

