Guinness & Bailey’s Chocolate Cupcakes

My sister, Carol, is a huge hockey fan and has season tickets to Kings games. She invited me along to the St. Patrick’s Day game, so I decided to make her some festive cupcakes as a thank you. These are also great if you’re hosting a St. Patrick’s Day party. The best part is you can use the leftover ingredients to make Irish Car Bombs. They are the perfect drink to celebrate! All you need is some whiskey. And if you’re home is anything like mine, you’ve already got some!

I enjoy baking from scratch, but every now and then I take the easy way and use boxed cake mix. My favorite is Betty Crocker, but any kind will do. A little trick I use is to substitute some of the ingredients so that it tastes like it was made from scratch. In this case I substituted the water for Guinness. Any stout will work, but Guinness is one of Enrique’s favorites, and I know he won’t mind drinking whatever is leftover. The carbonation in the beer makes these cupcakes super fluffy and moist.

Frosting, though, I never make from scratch. I find that most recipes are too sweet, and I usually need to make more than one batch to cover my cake or cupcakes, which makes it too time consuming for me. It also ends up being more expensive to buy all the ingredients separately rather than getting a store bought frosting. If it saves me time AND money, then why not?? But, just like with the boxed cake mix, I always add a few extra ingredients to kick it up a notch. For this recipe, I added 3 teaspoons of Caramel Bailey’s Irish Cream to the frosting. I would normally use regular Bailey’s, but I had the caramel flavor leftover from the holidays, and it turned out to be a great alternative.

The recipe makes 24 cupcakes, which is more than enough for my sister and I, so I took the leftovers to work. What lucky coworkers I have. I can’t leave them lying around the house because I WILL eat them all!

Ingredients

For the cake:

For the frosting:

Now let’s get to work!

IMG_8549

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Pour baking mix into stand mixer.

IMG_8550

Add 1 1/4 cup Guinness.

IMG_8551

 

Add 1/3 cup canola oil.

IMG_8553

Add 3 eggs.

IMG_8555

Mix well.

IMG_8557

Fill cupcake liners about 1/2 full. I use an ice cream scooper which helps keep things clean.

IMG_8558

IMG_8559

Pop in the oven for about 10 – 14 minutes. Mine were ready in 12 minutes.

IMG_8562

Let cool.

While the cupcakes are in the oven, let’s get started on the frosting.

Put about a container and a half of frosting in your stand mixer.

IMG_8560

Add Bailey’s and mix.

IMG_8561

To get the green swirl is a lot simpler than it looks.
Put tip in pastry bag.

IMG_8564

Put a little mark on the bag about halfway up.

IMG_8565

Use scissors to cut right at the line.

IMG_8566

Position your bag in a tall cup.

IMG_8567

Use a toothpick to make 3 lines inside the bag.

IMG_8568

IMG_8569

Fill with frosting.

IMG_8570

IMG_8571

Make sure the cupcakes have completely cooled before frosting them. You can put the frosting in the fridge while the cupcakes cool. When you’re ready to pipe, use your hands to warm up the bag and get a good consistency.

IMG_8583

IMG_8605
So what do you think? Pretty easy and festive right? Please comment below with any questions or suggestions. I hope you have a fun and safe St. Patrick’s Day!

cupcakesjpeg

 

 

Leave a Reply

